Ignorance is not bliss

For as long as I can remember, there is one place I have treated as my sanctuary, the Gurudwara: gateway to my Guru.

Every time I walk through those doors, an overpowering feeling of tranquility resides within me.  I actually feel my heart slowing down, as I am freed of my worries. No matter what the situation, I have always turned to the Gurudwara for my peace of mind. As I am sure millions of others have. It’s a place of worship, a place of security, and a place of purity.

Purity should be left untouched. I can’t begin to describe the amount of anger and sorrow I have felt since yesterday when I heard about an ignorant ruthless monster who tried to terrorize people in the Oak Creek, Wisconsin Gurudwara. It breaks my heart. Any act of violence is horrific, however for someone to go into the most sacred place and try to terrorize these Sikhs with murder is beyond my understanding. Innocent lives were taken and for what reason? Because of the way we look or is it because of our beliefs and faith? Lives taken by this oblivious monster who knew nothing about Sikhism. I am positive he never took out five minutes of his life to educate himself about Sikhs.  Ignorance is not bliss.

It has been reported that Wade Page was a supremacist, believing the white race is superior to all others. He sung songs with lyrics about killing all other races. I fail to understand how nothing has been done about these groups? Events like this keep happening and we just wait for them to “investigate”. There are numerous forums online with these groups. It’s in the open. Yet nothing comes out of the investigations.

Everyone has their own beliefs and I respect that, but when one’s belief system harms others its inhumane. The shooting at the Wisconsin Gurudwara was inhumane.

I just have so many questions and I want answers. Will those questions ever be answered?

Why is the situation not being blown up by the media? I can’t even imagine the amount of media coverage there would be if the same occurrence happened in a church. Why are we not getting the same coverage? Is the life of a person with lighter colored skin valued more than darker colored skin?

Why is it only “allegedly domestic terrorism”?

The FBI defines terrorism as “The unlawful use of force or violence against persons or property to intimidate or coerce a Government, the civilian population, or any segment thereof, in furtherance of political or social objectives.”

It is STRAIGHT UP TERRORISM. There are no ifs or buts about it.

Why are guns so easily available? Every other person has a gun. Every other day there is a shooting. As reported by www.gunsafe.org there are 273,000,000 people in the united states and 235,000,000 firearms owned by civilians. The numbers speak for themselves.

Why is there so much ignorance about religion? There have been over 700 incidents in the United States after 9/11 where Sikhs were affected. Why are Sikhs being targeted? I also keep hearing “Sikhs are being confused for Muslims.” How does that justify anything? Just because someone is Muslim doesn’t mean they are terrorists. Muslims should not be targeted. Sikhs should not be targeted. We are all human, and the color of our skin doesn’t define us as good or bad.

Despite all the anger and annoyance, I can’t help but respect the men who stood as heroes yesterday.  Lt. Brian Murphy, despite being shot numerous times told his fellow cops to rescue victims and not him. The president of the Gurudwara, Satwant Singh Kaleka who died trying to stab the monstrous shooter.  Brave men, women, and kids who survived a horrific day and the Oak Creek cops who did everything they could to save innocent lives.

If we could all open our eyes, mind, and hearts the world would be a beautiful place.

Nit Nit Jeaare Samaliyan, dekhega dewanhaar…

Terey daane keemat na pavai, tis daate kavan sumaar.

– Keertan Sohila (Guru Granth Sahib Ji) 

2 responses to “Ignorance is not bliss

  1. This incident is a wake up call for us. If people can dare to attack such spiritual place; then where will a person go, in search of peace and spirituality. I strongly believe a person who can respect someone other’s religion, can never respect his own. We all need to respect not only our own beliefs but others also.

Leave a Reply

